You're reading ...
Project Progress, Software

Simulation of the intended layout in EEP-X

The video of the simulaion in EEP of layout ‘Phase 2’ is out.

Using this sim was a nice way to already be able to see how it is going to look like, even before any track has been laid!

I found that driving with 4 trains looks good on this layout. Add more and it could become a crowd. Manual control can also still be handled nicely with 4 trains.

Train speeds used are 40 km/hr on the single tracks and 20 km/hr in the stations. In my eye that looks quite OK, I would not like it much faster. It was based on this simulation that I programmed my locs to a max speed of approximately 55. If I would leave the max speed as it is by default (which is much higher at approximately 100) then I would only be using a few ticks of the 28 (or 128) speed steps available. The locs run nice and smooth now.

About RudyB

Hobbyist

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Archive of all posts