You're reading ...
Traincontroller

Fun with Traincontroller

Originally I had planned the next video to be on Rocrail. But past weekend I downloaded the Traincontroller demo and I got so caught up with it that Rocrail will have to wait. 🙂

How come I got so caught up? Well … this TC really is a joy to work with. Those who followed the posts know that I have now done the layout and made switch panels and routes on ECoS, Koploper, iTrain and JMRI. Well … I can simply say: nothing beats TC!

The ‘switchboard editor’ has a very friendly user interface. The whole layout was entered in ‘no time’. It was actually fun to work with. Yes … to do more advanced things there is a learning curve and there is a 300 pages manual and there are extensive Help files. But really … anyone who has worked with similar software before can initially start up just like that.

But then the fun only really starts. There are so many possible ways to control trains, from fully manual to fully automated and many variants in between … and everything can be combined seamlessly. This makes playing with your layout so much fun! Really … I am enthusiastic!

There is this one thing though that I am less enthusiastic about … that is the price tag. TC Gold is out of my league for my tiny layout. Even TC Silver is. Bronze … maybe, but then, once you’ve played with Gold it may be hard to deal with the Bronze limitations.

Anyhow … here is a video that gives a short overview.

There’s so much to show about TC that it deserves a proper series of videos that demonstrate the design of a layout control step by step. Who knows … I might dive into that … not sure yet.

About RudyB

Hobbyist

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Fun with Traincontroller

  1. Hi. Thank yoy very much for your videos.
    I am using the functionality of YouTube to see subtitles and the default lenguaje is neerlandes. If I try to change the leanguage to spanish the resut is not good at all.
    If the default subtitles were in english they result is very good.

    Do you know why the default subtitles are in neerlandes

    Any idea?

    Like

    Posted by Antonio Moreno | July 17, 2017, 17:24
  2. Hey Rudy,

    I don’t know wether you have, but take a look at http://www.DutchRoco.nl. We surely could use your expertise and enthusiasm over there!

    Gerard Wassink
    Dutchroco admin

    Like

    Posted by Gerard Wassink | July 15, 2015, 10:43
    • Hi Gerard. Thanks for pointing to the forum. I saw there even are specific Traincontroller threads. I’ll register, and the least I can do is post the coming video’s there. Of course I’m available if I can be of any help, please just let me know. If questions are posted to which I know an answer, then of course I will reply.

      Like

      Posted by RudyB | July 15, 2015, 16:09
  3. Hello Rudy.
    I’ve been following your channel and blog. You’ve inspired me for DIY dcc decorders projects, especially the Servo decoder and S88 feedback projects. Thanks for the good work.
    Good to see that you like TC. I’ve been playing with TC for quit sometimes now and like it very much, but mine was the older version (V5.8) or now = Silver ed. I can’t wait for you to get your hand on the Rocrail and compare it to the TC. I really think Rocrail is the way to go since it’s an OpenSOurce.
    Thanks
    Handi Homann

    Like

    Posted by Handi Homann | May 23, 2015, 11:06
  4. Yes – TrainController (often known as ‘RR&Co.’ seems to be the gold standard in computer control, both in functionality and price! Many railway forums have sub-forums dedicated to it – it seems a popular choice for very large layouts. As you say, for small / medium layouts, it’s hard to justify the cost for the full-featured Gold.

    Anyway, thank you for demoing it here Rudy – it’s good to see it head-to-head with the earlier systems.
    Personally, on a small (shunting layout) system, I am more interested in building a custom system using Arduino / Raspberry Pi type resources, but it’s clear a lot of thought and innovation has gone into TC’s creation.

    Like

    Posted by Alan Forsyth | May 21, 2015, 20:47

Leave a comment

Archive of all posts