You're reading ...
Traincontroller

Traincontroller 28: Counter

The Traincontroller Switchboard can have counters. We could for instance use a counter to show how many trains are in a hidden yard or shadow station, or how many schedules are active, or how many trains are actually on the move at any moment in time, or … well, what ever you may like to count, up to how many mugs of coffee you drank. 🙂

A counter has three parameters:
START defines what number the counter starts at after a reset.
ON defines at which count the switch function of the counter switches on.
OFF defines at which count the switch function of the counter switches off.

The switch function can be used to start Operations, or as a condition or a trigger in other Switchboard elements.

Up- and down counting is not done via a Trigger tab in the counter itself, it is done via an operation in any other Switchboard element.

A counter can also be clicked on with the mouse to count up. A right click opens a menu with the possibility to also count down, or reset the counter.

The video shows a counter for trains in a hidden yard and a ‘running trains’ counter.

About RudyB

Hobbyist

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Traincontroller 28: Counter

  1. Hi Rudy

    I have using TC for about 4 years starting with Bronze and I am now using Gold

    All my knowledge is self-taught from reading the manual and making enquires on the Forum and it has really been hard work to get it operating

    After reading and viewing your videos I realise that I have only just scratched the surface of all the things that TC can do- how I wish all these had been available years ago

    Well done and please continue with your videos they really are excellent

    However one point on which I would like clarification is in Speed profiling

    Since viewing your video I have reprofiled all my Locos and I am happy with them apart from the braking

    As you suggested I set CV’s 3 and 4 to zero

    The acceleration I have managed to get to my satisfaction using the slider but adjusting the braking slider seems to make no difference– all the Locos come to a rapid stop which is not what I want

    Can you help please?

    Regards

    John Moss

    Like

    Posted by John Moss | September 7, 2015, 11:50
    • John, the Acc and Del need to be low, otherwise TC can not correctly control the speed ramp down when the train needs to stop in a block. The brake marker in a block has two parameters, distance and ramp. The ramp is the one that defines the length of the braking itself. The deceleration slider is not used for that. If you say your train comes to a halt abruptly … then it sounds like the ramp of your brake markers is 0? Can you check that?

      Like

      Posted by RudyB | September 7, 2015, 12:21
      • Thanks Rudy for replying so quickly–I had not set the ramps at 0
        However I notice that some of my ramps are quite small I had used the distance marker to get the loco to stop at the correct spot.I have amended this on some of blocks to make ramp longer and it does make it much better
        Some of the locos still seem to come to a rather abrupt stop– much better than before– so could I alter CV 4 for those Locos?
        Regards John

        Like

        Posted by John Moss | September 7, 2015, 19:15
      • Not sure what brake ramp values you use? As a rule of thumb I’d say they should be approximately same size in cm as the train block run in speed in km/hr (for HO), a 60 cm ramp for 60 km/hr.

        Then I can not imagine any engine would stop abrubtly. Increasing CV 4 is possible, but will lead to inaccuracy of the stop position.

        Like

        Posted by RudyB | September 7, 2015, 21:06
      • Thanks Rudy
        It may well be my ramp values are not correct
        I am N gauge so what ramp value would you use for 60km per hour
        Regards
        John

        Like

        Posted by John Moss | September 8, 2015, 13:05
      • I’d divide by 2, some 30 cm, maybe a bit more. Actually you could start with the max value the size of your block allows, depending on where your sensor is related to the desired stop position.

        Like

        Posted by RudyB | September 8, 2015, 14:00

Leave a comment

Archive of all posts